Board Treasurer - Sue Campbell

Sue has lived in Mill Valley for 23 years and then moved to Healdsburg in 2006.  She has served on the boards of the Marin Community Clinic, Saint Francis Memorial Hospital (Treasurer, Chair), and the SFMH Foundation, the Operations Committee of the Marin General Hospital Board and the Quality and Finance Committees of the Dignity Health Board.  She has also volunteered for the Mill Valley Film Festival and worked at the Open Water Rowing Center.

She discovered Mountain Play in 1985, while hiking the switchbacks, when she heard “Climb Every Mountain.”  It was the Sound of Music that year.  Since then, she’s attended almost every Mountain Play.

Board Member - Sara PearsonLoves the Mountain Play!

Board President - Barbara TomberBarbara Tomber is a native of Indiana and has been in the Bay Area for 20 years after spending 13 years in Hawaii.  She has a degree in Theater and worked at a theater company in Honolulu for 9 years.  In her professional career she was an executive Vice President for a bank, lending money to Media and Entertainment companies.  She has been on the Mountain Play board for almost three years but had attended the performances on the mountain every year since she moved to Marin.  She also has served on the board of the SF Film Festival for 19 years.

Vice President - Carol GoldbergThe Mountain Play has been a family tradition for over 30 years.   It kicks off our summer fun. It is so exciting to get on the bus, as we know the adventure has begun. Up the mountain we go enjoying the endless views and anticipating our picnic spread.   It is so special to enjoy the play in the historic amphitheater with its breathtaking views of the ocean and San Francisco. What better way to end the day then a leisurely hike down the mountain.  I hope you begin your own family traditions at top the mountain, as well as support the Mountain Play Association.

Loves the Mountain Play!

Amy Manning, Board Member

My background is I am a maritime attorney with a love of theater!  I grew up in New Hampshire.  My high school history teacher owned a small summer theater in a barn in southern Maine, Hackmatack Playhouse, and high school kids could intern there helping with backstage and audition for parts.  I worked backstage there summers and fell in love with musical theater.  Mr. Guptill put on the classics—Guys and Dolls, Li’l Abner, Damn Yankees, Sound of Music, Oliver!, etc.    When I moved to Marin County in 1990, I discovered the Mountain Play.  Obviously the venue is unique and spectacular and the talent displayed in the shows is fantastic!  When I was offered the opportunity to be on the Board, I was delighted.  I love supporting the Mountain Play organization and doing what I can to make sure it keeps going—one of the treasures of Marin!

This will be Sandee’s third season serving on the board for the Mountain Play. For over twenty years, she has been bringing her kids and grandkids up the mountain as an enthusiastic supporter of the program. Sandee is a life long resident of Marin, and raised a family in San Rafael. Once retired, she wanted to give back to her community, and her first thought: the Mountain Play.

Board Secretary - John ThomasOriginally from Vermont and New York, John lived in California for almost 40 years. After receiving a Ph.D from UC Berkeley, he worked for 30 years conducting educational research for several educational institutes in Philadelphia and the Bay Area. The focus of his research was self-directed learning in the form of academic studying and, more recently, project-based learning. He has also developed a number of instructional materials packages for adolescents and their teachers. Most recently, following the lead of his wife, Sanna, he has been trying to learn as much as possible about climate change.  He also occupies himself with managing income property, traveling, skiing, sailing, and playing golf.

Mountain Play Advisory Council

Leslie Alden

Fernando Barreto

Jerry Cahill

Kathleen King

Cynthia Koehler
Lynn Lohr

Celeste Perry

Armando Quintero

Bob Smith

Peter Sorenson

Carroll Stevens